Helene and Paris

Johann Nepomuk

"Helene and Paris"
      Ballet Music Op.26

Arranged for piano by the composer.
      Sequenced by Mikio Tao

  • FILE:1 Ouverture (D, 3/4,Andante - 2/2,Allegro molto)

  • FILE:2 ACT.1 (No.1 to No.12)
    • No.1 G,2/4,Andantino
    • No.2 B-flat,2/2,Marcia Allegro moderato
    • No.3 G,3/4,Adagio ma non troppo - 3/4,Allegro vivace
    • No.4 C,2/4,Allegretto vivo
    • No.5 E-flat,2/2,Adagio - Allegro sostenuto
    • No.6 G,2/4,Groteschi. Allegro comodo
    • No.7 C,3/4,Grave - Allegro
    • No.8 A,2/2,Terzetto. Allegro
    • No.9 D,6/8,Allegro vivace (attacca to No.10)
    • No.10 E-flat,2/2,Marcia Allegro maestoso - C-minor,4/4,Moderato e Sostenuto - E-minor - E,3/4,Presto
    • No.11 C,2/4,Andante (attacca to No.12)
    • No.12 Finale. C-E-flat,2/4,Andantino - 4/4,Allegro moderato - 6/8,Presto - C,2/2,Marcia - 4/4,Allegro vivace

  • FILE:3 ACT.2 (No.13 to No.17)
    • No.13 A,4/4,Allegro con Fuoco
    • No.14 F,3/4,Andante - C,2/4,Dance Allegretto
    • No.15 E-flat,3/4,Andante sostenuto - 2/4,Allegretto
    • No.16 C-minor,2/4,Grave assai - A,4/4,Allegro moderato - C
    • No.17 D-minor,4/4,Allegro moderato - B-flat,6/8,Andante - D,4/4,Andante

  • FILE:4 ACT.3 (No.18 to No.27)
    • No.18 B-minor,2/2,Allegro Spirituoso(Marche and Trio)
    • No.19 G,4/4,Andantino
    • No.20 G,4/4,Allegro Vivace
    • No.21 A-minor,4/4,Allegro moderato - C,2/2,Allegretto - C-minor,4/4,Allegro con foco
    • No.22 E,6/8,Larghetto - 2/2,Allegro
    • No.23 A-minor,2/2,Adagio -attacca to No.24
    • No.24 D,6/8,Tempo di Caccia
    • No.25 F,3/4,Allegretto
    • No.26 A,9/8,Larghetto - 2/2,Allegretto
    • No.27 Finale, D,2/4,Allegro con Brio
Helene and Paris

   Helene and Paris, Op.26, a ballet choreographed by Coralli, was first performed at the Imperial Court Theater in 1807; Hummel was paid 400 golden to write the orchestral music. The full score of the overture can be found in British Library Additional Manuscript32,195, where it resides with the cantata Irene, for which it also served as an overture. It was scored for paired woodwinds and brass(excluding trombones), timpani,and strings.

The piano score, whose publication was announced in 1808, provides the outline of the story, and some indications of orchestration and staging. It is a testmonial to Hummel's renown that the whole piano score, as well as several excerpts, appeared in pirated versions in several countries.

Joel Sachs 1989